Participating Countries

Below is a list of all the 206 National Olympic Committees (NOCs) that are currently recognized by the International Olympic Committee, repesenting most countries and several terriortories from around the world.

Five countries have been represented at all Summer Olympic Games – Greece, Great Britain, France, Switzerland, and Australia, though not always as part of official teams. Switzerland is on this list even though they boycotted the 1956 Olympics in Melbourne - they had competed in the equestrian events several months earlier in Stockholm. France did not send a team to the 1904 Games but a lone Frenchman did compete for the USA and a mixed team. Also in 1896 Great Britain competed as part of the 'United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland', while Australia participated in 1908 and 1912 as part of a combined Australasia team with New Zealand. Therefore, out of these five nations only Greece has participated under its own flag in all modern summer Olympic Games.

On the other hand, Vatican City is one sovereign state never to have competed in an Olympics.

A few of the places listed below are territories/regions rather than countries, though they all participate at the Olympic Games under this name.

Afghanistan The Gambia North Macedonia
Albania Georgia Norway
Algeria Germany Oman
American Samoa* Ghana Pakistan
Andorra Greece Palau
Angola Grenada Palestine*
Antigua and Barbuda Guam* Panama
Argentina Guatemala Papua New Guinea
Armenia Guinea Paraguay
Aruba* Guinea-Bissau Peru
Australia Guyana Philippines
Austria Haiti Poland
Azerbaijan Honduras Portugal
The Bahamas Hong Kong* Puerto Rico*
Bahrain Hungary Qatar
Bangladesh Iceland Romania
Barbados India Russian Federation
Belarus Indonesia Rwanda
Belgium Iran Saint Kitts and Nevis
Belize Iraq Saint Lucia
Benin Ireland Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Bermuda* Israel Samoa
Bhutan Italy San Marino
Bolivia Jamaica Sao Tome and Principe
Bosnia and Herzegovina Japan Saudi Arabia
Botswana Jordan Senegal
Brazil Kazakhstan Serbia
British Virgin Islands* Kenya Seychelles
Brunei Darussalam Kiribati Sierra Leone
Bulgaria Korea, North (PDR of Korea) Singapore
Burkina Faso Korea, South Slovakia
Burundi Kosovo Slovenia
Cambodia Kuwait Solomon Islands
Cameroon Kyrgyzstan Somalia
Canada Laos South Africa
Cabo Verde Latvia South Sudan
Cayman Islands* Lebanon Spain
Central African Republic Lesotho Sri Lanka
Chad Liberia Sudan
Chile Libya Suriname
China Liechtenstein Sweden
Colombia Lithuania Switzerland
Comoros Luxembourg Syria
Congo, Republic of the Madagascar Taiwan (Chinese Taipei)
Congo, Democratic Malawi Tajikistan
Republic of the Cook Islands* Malaysia Tanzania
Costa Rica Maldives Thailand
Cote d'Ivoire Mali Togo
Croatia Malta Tonga
Cuba Marshall Islands Trinidad and Tobago
Cyprus Mauritania Tunisia
Czechia Mauritius Türkiye
Denmark Mexico Turkmenistan
Djibouti Fed. States of Micronesia Tuvalu
Dominica Moldova Uganda
Dominican Republic Monaco Ukraine
East Timor (Timor-Leste) Mongolia United Arab Emirates
Ecuador Montenegro United Kingdom (Great Britain)
Egypt Morocco United States
El Salvador Mozambique Uruguay
Equatorial Guinea Myanmar (Burma) Uzbekistan
Eritrea Namibia Vanuatu
Estonia Nauru Venezuela
Eswatini  Nepal Vietnam
Ethiopia Netherlands Virgin Islands US *
Fiji New Zealand Yemen
Finland Nicaragua Zambia
France Niger Zimbabwe
Gabon Nigeria  

* dependent territory rather than a country


Past Competing Countries / Territories / Combined (Mixed) Teams

Over time there have been changes to borders, and countries merging and separating, so there is a history of countries participating at the Olympics that no longer exist or no longer compete under that name. Also on many occasions mixed teams with athletes from more than one country have participated. Examples include the Australasia team from 1908-1912 including athletes from Australian and New Zealand. Past countries such as Czechoslovakia, USSR and Yugoslavia have now split into smaller regions. There are many more examples, see the articles about Past Participating Countries.

Existing countries/territories/regions with no or unrecognized Olympic committees

In 2013, the International Olympic Committee insisted that it does not recognize National Olympic Committees for Abkhazia or South Ossetia after the Russian Olympic Committee listed the two Georgian rebel regions as separate entities on its database for the Sochi 2014 Olympics and Paralympics. The IOC recognizes an NOC for Georgia (which has jurisdiction over the whole territory of Georgia) but does not recognize an NOC for Abkhazia or South Ossetia.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be in Paris 2024, followed by the Winter edition in Milan-Cortina 2026. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite