Unified Team

After the break up of the Soviet Union, most of the subsequent independent states competed under the banner of 'The Unified Team' at the 1992 Olympics in Barcelona. The unified team consisted of twelve of the fifteen former Soviet republics: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. The nations of EstoniaLatvia, and Lithuania competed separately. 

The Unified Team finished on top of the medal tally with 45 gold, 38 silver, and 29 bronze medals; a total of 112 medals.


Other 'Unified Teams'


Related Pages

Popular Content


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite