Portugal at the Olympics

The Iberian nation Portugal first entered the Olympics in 1912 and has participated in the Olympics from then on. Before this year, the Olympic Committee of Portugal (COP, Comité Olímpico de Portugal) was recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the National Olympic Committee of the nation. In 1952, Portugal forayed into the Olympic Winter Games and just failed to send a delegation two times since 1988.

Portugal have won four gold medals (including 2016), all of these coming from the sport of athletics. The four gold medal winners of Poland are: marathoner Carlos Lopes (1984), marathoner Rosa Mota (1988), long-distance runner Fernando Ribeiro (1996) and triple and long jumper Nelson Evora (2008).



Related Pages

Popular Content


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite