Austria at the Olympics

Austria is one of the most consistent participants of the modern Olympic Games. They have participated in the Summer Games since 1896. They were banned in the 1920 Antwerp Olympics because of their involvement in World War I. They did however participate in the next Summer Games held in Paris, France.

Austria is known as an Olympic powerhouse having won Olympic honors from their very first year of participation in the Summer Games and most of their Summer Olympic outings. They won a total of five Olympic medals in the 1896 Athens Olympics despite the fact that they only sent three athletes. Cyclist Adolf Schmal took the gold in the 12 hour race and the bronze for the time trial and 10 kilometer race. Swimmers Paul Neumann and Otto Herschmann took the top spot in the 500 meters freestyle and silver in the 100 meter freestyle respectively.

Austria is also a force to be reckoned with in the Winter Games Having won Olympic medals since their first outing in 1924. They won two golds and a silver medal in the 1924 Winter Olympics held in Charmonix, France. Skaters Herma Planck-Szabó took the gold in women's single figure skating. Helene Engelmann and Alfred Berger also took the top spot in pair's figure skating and Willy Böckl took the silver in the men's figure skating. Austria has also hosted the Winter Games twice (1964 and 1976). They have performed consistently strong in most Winter Games and they show no signs of slowing down any time soon.



Related Pages

Popular Content


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite