Participating Countries at the World Cup

32 countries participated at the 2018 FIFA World Cup. Debutants to qualify were Panama and Iceland. Shocks and surprises included the following teams to miss out: Italy, Netherlands, USA, Algeria, Cameroon, Ireland, Ghana, and Chile. See the full list of qualifiers for 2018.

Information about the participation of the following countries at the World Cup of Football is available by clicking on the country names below.

List of current countries that have participated in World Cups

Past Countries that have participated at the World Cup (no longer countries)

Information about countries yet to play World Cup finals (there are many more than this)


Related Pages

Popular Content


FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the first to be played in the winter time. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

How to Cite