Croatia at the World Cup

In 1991, Yugoslavia split up and the independent countries of Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, and Serbia-Montenegro were formed. Since that time, Croatia has been very successful at the World Cup, having qualified for the World Cup in 1998, 2003, 2006, 2014, 2018 and 2022.

In 2018, this nation of just over 4 million people, had their best tournament result ever, making the final for the first time and going down gallantly 4-2 to France.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite