Bosnia and Herzegovina at the World Cup

Until the early 1990s, Bosnian-Herzegovinian players were part of the Yugoslavia national football team. In 1991, Yugoslavia split up and the independent countries of Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, and Serbia-Montenegro were formed. There have been players from this region who represented Yugoslavia at the World Cup, though traditionally most Yugoslavian players were Serbian and the Serbia team is accepted by FIFA as the official successor of Yugoslavia

Although Bosnia and Herzegovina gained independence from Yugoslavia on 1 March 1992, due to the Bosnian War the country was unable to enter qualifying for the 1994 FIFA World Cup. They reached their first-ever playoffs for a major tournament during qualifiers for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, eventually losing to Portugal.

Bosnia and Herzegovina qualified for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, as winners of UEFA Group G. This was the first time they appeared at a major tournament as an independent nation. They won one game, against Iran, but did not progress from the group stage.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite