Football World Cup Firsts

The World Cup is full of firsts, from the first event in 1930 to the first Middle East nation to host the World Cup in Qatar in 2022.

1930 Uruguay

1934 Italy

1938 France 1954 Switzerland 1958 Sweden

1962 Chile

1966 England 1970 Mexico 1974 Germany 1978 Argentina 1982 Spain 1986 Mexico 1994 Usa 1998 France

2002 South Korea & Japan

2006 Germany

2010 South Africa

2014 Brazil

2018 Russia

2022 Qatar


Related Pages

Popular Content


FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the first to be played in the winter time. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

How to Cite