Topend Sports Logo

Serbia at the World Cup

In the past players from this region represented Yugoslavia (up to 1991), then Serbia-Montenegro (1992-2006). In 1991, Yugoslavia split up and formed the independent countries of Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, and Serbia-Montenegro. The national team of Serbia and Montenegro played under the name Yugoslavia from 1992 until 2003, when the country and team were renamed 'Serbia and Montenegro' and played international football as Serbia and Montenegro until 2006.

Montenegro declared independence from Serbia in 2006 (after the team of Serbia-Montenegro played at the World Cup). Serbia's team is seen by FIFA as the direct descendant of the Yugoslavia national team. Hence, it inherited the full status, results, and achievements from Yugoslavia. Yugoslavia's best results were 4th in 1930 and 1962. Serbia qualified for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, winning one game in the group stage. They again qualified in 2018, again winning just one game.

Serbia has qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, though left without winning a game.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be held in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite