Topend Sports

Italy at the World Cup

The Italian football team, called the 'Azzurri', have been World Cup Champions four times: 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006. In their most recent World Cup in 2014, Italy were surprisingly eliminated at the group stage, and in 2018 Italy couldn't score in 180 minutes of football against Sweden in their play-off, failing to qualify for the first time since 1958. In 2022, Italy again failed to qualify.






Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite