Topend Sports Logo

The Ice Hockey Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup is a championship trophy awarded yearly to the National Hockey League (NHL) playoff winners. It is North America's oldest professional sports trophy, being first presented in 1893.

The trophy is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, the Governor General of Canada, who donated it as an award to Canada's top-ranking amateur ice hockey club. The first Cup was awarded in 1893 to the Montreal Hockey Club.

The Stanley Cup winners from the first in 1893 until 1914 were determined by challenge games and league play. In 1915, the professional ice hockey organizations National Hockey Association (NHA) and the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA) reached an agreement in which their respective champions would face each other annually for the Stanley Cup. It remained this way until 1926 when the trophy became the official NHL championship prize.

ice hockey is played on ice hockey played on ice

Since 1982, the championship round of the NHL's playoffs has been a best-of-seven series, played between the champions of the Eastern and Western Conferences.

More Information

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite