Topend Sports Logo

Germany at the World Cup

Germany are traditionally a strong team in world football. They have been winners of the FIFA World Cup four times, playing as West Germany in 1954, 1974 and 1990, and as united Germany in 2014.

In 2006 and 2010 Germany finished third at the World Cup. They have reached the final eight times (4 wins, 4 runners-up). As one of the 2018 pre-tournament favorites, Germany crashed out in the group stage after defeats to Mexico and South Korea. The last time they failed to make it past the first hurdle of the tournament was in 1938. In 2022 in Qatar, Germany again crashed out in the group stage.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be Brazil in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite