Topend Sports Logo

Mexico at the World Cup

Mexico were one of the 13 teams in the inaugural World Cup in 1930. Mexico have qualified for the FIFA World Cup finals 17 times (including 2022), more often than world football powers such as France and England. However, they have not had great success.

Mexico's best results have come when they have hosted the tournament, in 1970 and 1986. They reached the quarter-finals in 1970 and 1986, on both occasions losing to the eventual runners-up. In 1970, Italy defeated them 4-1 and in 1986, they lost a penalty shoot-out with Germany.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be held in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite