Topend Sports Logo

Brazil at the World Cup

Brazil are an exciting powerhouse team in world football. They are the only country to have appeared in every final tournament - 22 from 1930 to 2022. They have won the FIFA World Cup on five occasions: 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

Brazil have reached the World Cup Final seven times - beaten only by Germany who has done it 8 times.

In 2014, the host team Brazil were thumped by Germany 7-1 in the semifinal, then beaten into 4th place by The Netherlands. In 2018, Brazil were beaten by Belgium in the quarter finals.

At the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, Brazil were the pre-tournament favorite, though were upset by Croatia in the round of 16.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be held in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite