Yugoslavia at the World Cup

Up until 2003, players from this region represented Yugoslavia. In 1991, Yugoslavia split up and the independent countries of Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, and Serbia and Montenegro were formed. 'Serbia and Montenegro' later split into Serbia and Montenegro. Serbia and Montenegro, then Serbia's teamsv are seen by FIFA as the direct descendants of the Yugoslavia national team. The Serbia and Montenegro team played under the name Yugoslavia from 1992 until 2003 - see Serbia and Montenegro for results during this period.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite