Participating Countries

The first official Winter Olympic Games were held in 1924 in Chamonix France, attended by 16 nations. The 2018 Olympics in PyeongChang will have at least 93 countries competing, plus athletes from Russia who will participate under the IOC flag.

Twelve countries have sent athletes to every Winter Olympic Games: Austria, Canada, Finland, France, Great Britain, Hungary, Italy, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States. Only one of these, the United States, has earned gold at each Games.

Here are links to more information about each of the following countries' participation at the Winter Olympic Games. This is not a comprehensive list of the countries that have participated.

In 2018, Ecuador, Eritrea, Kosovo, Malaysia, Nigeria and Singapore are scheduled to make their Winter Olympics debut.

There have also been athletes without a country - competing as Independent Athletes

Past Participants


Related Pages

send us a comment Got any comments, suggestions or corrections? Please let us know.

Olympics Extra

The next Olympic Games are the Winter Olympics in Beijing 2022, followed by the Summer version in Paris 2024. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite