Independent Athletes

Occasionally athletes will not be able to compete for their country, for instance when their country's Olympic Committee has been suspended. At the Winter Olympics, this has occerred at the 2014 and 2018 Games, and more often at the Summer Olympics. See more information about Independent athletes at the Summer Olympics.

2018 Winter Olympic Games

Russia has been banned from the 2018 Winter Olympics. Individual athletes who have qualified and can also demonstrate they have complied with the IOC's doping regulations will be allowed to compete under the Olympic flag as "Olympic Athletes from Russia."

2014 Winter Olympic Games

At the 2014 Sochi Olympics opening ceremony, three athletes from India marched under the Olympic flag as Independent Athletes (Independent Olympic Participants). This is because at the time the Indian Olympic Association was suspended by the IOC.

The atheletes were Shiva Keshavan in luge, cross country skier Nadeem Iqbal and Alpine skier Himanshu Thakur.

However, the IOC subsequently lifted the country's suspension, in time for Nadeem Iqbal and Himanshu Thakur to compete under their nation's flag, and all three walked behind the Indian flag at the Closing Ceremony. Therefore it was only luge athlete Shiva Keshavan who competed as an Independent Athlete.

Related Pages