Summer Olympic Games Stadia

Olympic Games swimming Athens Panathinaiko Stadium used in 1896 & 2004

The main Olympic Games stadium has become the centerpiece of the Olympic Games, where the opening and closing ceremonies are held, where the flame is lit and kept alight throughout the Games, where the marathon run finishes, and many other significant events are conducted.

As can be seen in the table below, the Olympic Stadium is commonly and unimaginatively referred to as the Olympic Stadium or something very similar.

Major Stadia of the Modern Summer Games

Year Host City Stadium notes
1896 Athens

Panathinaiko Stadium / Panathenean Stadium

Athens Olympic Stadium
see larger image

The venue for the first Olympic Games in 1896 was actually built in 330 BC by the orator Luycurgus, a disciple of Plato. The Greek businessman Georges Averoff from Alexandria, Egypt paid 920,000 drachma for the reconstruction of the stadium.
1900 Paris Vincennes Velodrome
(Vélodrome de Vincennes)
1904 St. Louis Francis Field
1908 London White City Stadium
1912 Stockholm Olympic Stadium
(Stockholms Olympiastadion)
Stockholm Olympic Stadium
see larger image
1920 Antwerp Olympic Stadium
(Olympisch Stadion)
1924 Paris Olympic Stadium (Stade Olympique Yves-du-Manoir, also known as the Stade Olympique de Colombes, or simply Colombes)

The stadium is located in Colombes, near Paris. The 1938 FIFA World Cup Final was also held here.

1928 Amsterdam Olympic Stadium
(Olympisch Stadion)
1932 Los Angeles

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

LA Olympic Stadium
see larger image

Has also been used for the two Super Bowls (1967 & 1973). Was used for the 1984 Olympic Games.
1936 Berlin Olympic Stadium
This stadium was used for the FIFA World Cup games in Berlin in 2006
1948 London Wembley Stadium This football stadium was originally built in 1923, and in addition to the 1948 Olympics, was also host to the annual FA Cup finals and the 1966 World Cup. A new Wembley stadium was buit on this site in 2007, and was reused as a venue at the 2012 Olympic Games.
1952 Helsinki Olympic Stadium
1956 Melbourne Melbourne Cricket Ground mcg stadium
1960 Rome Olympic Stadium
(Stadio Olimpico)
also hosted the 1990 FIFA World Cup Final
1964 Tokyo Olympic Stadium
1968 Mexico City Olympic Stadium (Estadio Olímpico Universitario)
1972 Munich Olympic Stadium(Olympiastadion) also held the 1974 FIFA World Cup Final,
1976 Montreal Olympic Stadium
(Stade Olympique)
1980 Moscow Grand Arena of the Central Lenin Stadium
1984 Los Angeles Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum Has also been used for the two Super Bowls (1967 & 1973). Was used for the 1932 Olympic Games.
1988 Seoul Olympic Stadium
1992 Barcelona Olympic Stadium (Estadio Olímpico Lluís Companys) Barcelona's Olympic Stadium was built in 1927 as part of the bidding process for the 1936 Games, which were everntually awarded to Munich. 65 years later it eventually hosted the Games.
1996 Atlanta Centennial Olympic Stadium After the Olympics in 1996 the stadium was reconstructed into Turner Field for Major League Baseball's Atlanta Braves. In 2017, it was again reconstructed as Georgia State Stadium, designed for American football.
2000 Sydney Stadium Australia
2004 Athens Olympic Stadium Stockholm Olympic Stadiumsee larger image
2008 Beijing Beijing National Stadium (also known officially as the National Stadium or colloquially as the "Bird's Nest")
2012 London Olympic Stadium
2016 Rio de Janeiro Maracanã Stadium
(Estádio do Maracanã)
This stadium had a record attendance at the final game of the 1950 FIFA World Cup of 199,854. It is still the largest stadium in South America, and currently the stadium seats only 88,992 spectators. It will also host the 2014 FIFA World Cup Final

Related Pages