Germany, 2006

Schedule | Groups | Seeding | Stadia | Results | Goal Scorers | Tickets

The 2006 FIFA World Cup tournament in Germany was an outstanding success, with excellent football being played, culminating with an action packed final with Italy defeating France in a penalty shootout.

The decision to award the 2006 World Cup to Germany was controversial, since it was widely expected that the tournament would take place in South Africa. The final tally was 12 votes to 11 in favor of Germany. The current title holders, Brazil, defended their title in 2006 in Germany (see the complete list of previous winners). The Finals were held between June 9 and July 9, 2006.


The Global Soccer Federations were represented by the following qualifiers:



The following countries, listed alphabetically, qualified for the World Cup 2006. Click on each name for more information about their 2006 campaign and previous history at the World Cup. See also tournament seeding and groups.

World Cup Firsts

(more Firsts)


Related Pages

Popular Content


FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the first to be played in the winter time. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

How to Cite