Topend Sports Logo

FIFA World Cup Australia & New Zealand, 2023 (Women's)

The 9th FIFA Women's World Cup was held jointly in Australia and New Zealand, the first time the event was hosted in the southern hemisphere. There were only two bids to host the event, the other was Colombia.

football match world cup 2023match between Denmark and Haiti at HBF Park in Perth, 2023

The event was held from 10 July – 20 August 2023, with the final being played at the Sydney Olympic Stadium.

The United States were the defending champions, having won their fourth title in 2019. Australia and New Zealand automatically qualified due to being host countries.

The final was won by Spain, defeating England 1-0.


The 2023 World Cup is larger than previous tournaments, with the number of teams at the group stage expanding from 24 to 32 teams. The teams play in eight groups, with only the top-two sides from each group qualifying for the knockout stages.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be held in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite