Topend Sports Logo

Women's Soccer World Cup

The ninth Women's FIFA World Cup is currently being played in Australia & New Zealand in 2023.

The FIFA Women's World Cup is an international football (soccer) tournament for women's national teams. It was established by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the governing body for world football, to provide women with the opportunity to compete at the highest level on the international stage.

football match world cup 2023match between Denmark and Haiti at HBF Park in Perth, 2023

The Women's World Cup has become one of the most prestigious and anticipated events in women's sports, showcasing the remarkable talent and skills of female footballers from around the world. It has played a significant role in promoting women's football globally and inspiring a new generation of female athletes to pursue their passion for the sport.

The idea of a Women's World Cup was first proposed by Sepp Blatter, then the General Secretary of FIFA, in 1986. The success and growing popularity of women's football in various countries prompted FIFA to organize a global competition for women.

The inaugural FIFA Women's World Cup took place in 1991, with China as the host country. Twelve teams participated in the tournament, and the matches were played in Guangdong, Jiangsu, and Beijing. The United States emerged as the champions, defeating Norway 2-1 in the final held on November 30, 1991, at Tianhe Stadium in Guangzhou, China.

Since the first event in 1991, the Women's World Cup has been held every four years, with the number of participating teams gradually increasing. The tournament has seen tremendous growth in popularity and competitiveness, with more countries investing in women's football and developing strong national teams.

The first two events were 12-nation tournaments, becoming a 16-nation competition in 1999, and expanding to 24 teams for the 2015 event in Canada, the 32 teams for the 2023 World Cup in New Zealand and Australia.

More Information

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite