Brazil 2014

Brazil, 2014 | Schedule | Cities | Stadia | Results | Goal Scorers

The FIFA World Cup was held in 2014 in Brazil - the 20th World Cup. The event took place between June and July 2014. It was the second time that Brazil had hosted the competition, the first was in 1950. Brazil became the fifth country to have hosted the FIFA World Cup twice (the others are Mexico, Italy, France and Germany). It was also the first World Cup to have been held in South America since the 1978 FIFA World Cup in Argentina and the first time consecutive World Cups have been staged in the Southern Hemisphere.

Tournament Information

Prize Money

The total prize money: US$576 million. Preparation costs for Each Team: US$1.5 million. Once at the tournament, the prize money was distributed as follows:


Related Pages

Popular Content


FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the first to be played in the winter time. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

How to Cite