Germany, 1974

The 1974 FIFA World Cup was held in West Germany from 13 June to 7 July. It was the first time that the newly designed FIFA World Cup Trophy was awarded, replacing the Jules Rimet Trophy. The Final was won by the host nation Germany, beating Holland 2-1. It was West Germany's second World Cup victory, the first was in 1954.




Related Pages

Popular Content


FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the first to be played in the winter time. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

How to Cite