Topend Sports

South Africa 2010

Sth Africa, 2010 | Groups | Schedule | Cities | Stadia | Results | Goal Scorers

The South African World Cup event was the 19th FIFA World Cup. It was the first World Cup held in Africa (see 2010 host selection). The event started on the 11 June 2010, concluding with the final on 11th July.

The 32 countries which qualified for the 2010 World Cup were placed into their eight groups in early December 2009. See the complete listing of the 2010 draw for each of the eight groups. This was the first World Cup with no debutante associations, although two of the qualifying countries (Slovakia and Serbia) had previously appeared only as parts of former competing nations.

The official match ball for the South Africa World Cup was named the "Jabulani" (see more about World Cup balls).

The winner of the Final was Spain, with a 1-0 win over the Netherlands. It was Spain's first-ever World Cup final win.

Spain playing at the 2010 World Cup Spain playing at the 2010 World Cup

More Information

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite