World Cup Host Countries

The World Cup championship has been awarded every four years since the first tournament in 1930 (except in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II).

Brazil and Germany had bid for the 1942 World Cup; however no vote was taken to determine a host. Columbia was selected as host for the 1986 tournament, but withdrew four years before the start date. Mexico eventually hosted the event. In 2002, for the first and possibly the last time the event was hosted by two countries, Japan and South Korea.

The winning hosts for 2018 and 2022 were announced on 2 December 2010, with the winners Russia and Qatar. For some, China is considered the favorite for the 2026 World Cup, then the event would possibly return to Europe in 2030 before perhaps going to the US or South America and then Africa, then to the Asian region in 2042.

The table here lists the host country for each tournament. Click on the country names for more information about each Football World Cup host.

Year Host Country
2026 Canada, USA and Mexico
2022 Qatar
2018 Russia
2014 Brazil
2010 South Africa
2006 Germany
2002 Japan & South Korea
1998 France
1994 US
1990 Italy
1986 Mexico
1982 Spain
1978 Argentina
1974 Germany
1970 Mexico
1966 England
1962 Chile
1958 Sweden
1954 Switzerland
1950 Brazil
1942 none
1938 France
1934 Italy
1930 Uruguay

Related Pages

send us a comment Got any comments, suggestions or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next World Cup will be in Qatar 2022, the women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite