Topend Sports Logo

South Africa World Cup Top Goal Scorers

Sth Africa, 2010 | Groups | Schedule | Cities | Stadia | Results | Goal Scorers

Here are the standings in the 'Golden Boot' or 'Golden Shoe' award. Argentine striker Gonzalo Higuaín was the first player to score a hat-trick in the 2010 competition, the 49th World Cup hat-trick in the history of the World Cup. See also List of All Time top goal scorers.

Although having the same number of goals as several other players, German player Thomas Müller won the golden shoe award based on tie-breaker rules (based on number of assists, followed by the number of minutes played).

ranking goals name country



Thomas Müller


2 5 David Villa Spain
3 5 Wesley Sneijder Netherlands
4 5 Diego Forlán Uruguay
=5 4 Gonzalo Higuaín Argentina
=5 4 Róbert Vittek Slovakia
=5 4 Miroslav Klose Germany
=8 3 Asamoah Gyan Ghana
=8 3 Landon Donovan USA
=8 3 Luís Fabiano Brazil
=8 3 Luis Suárez Uruguay
=12 2 13 players on two goals ...

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be held in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite