Topend Sports

South Africa Winning Host Country for 2010


The first World Cup bidding process under continental rotation was the 2010 World Cup, in which FIFA accepted five bids from African nations (South Africa, Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia and Libya). The winning nation was South Africa, making it the first World Cup held in Africa. With 14 votes, South Africa were declared as winners after the first round of voting. Morocco received 10 votes, while Egypt did not tally any. It will be the largest sporting event ever held on the African continent, as the Olympics have yet to visit there.

More Information

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite