Topend Sports Logo

World Cup Best Goalkeepers (Golden Glove)

The 'Golden Glove Award' is presented to the most outstanding goal keeper at each FIFA World Cup finals. This best goalkeeper award was first presented in 1994, at the time called the Lev Yashin Award. The award was named in honor of the late and legendary Russian goalkeeper, Lev Yashin. In 2010, this award for the best goalkeeper was renamed the 'Golden Glove Award'.

From 1930 until 1990, the All-Star Team of the tournament named one goalkeeper (except in 1990 when two were named), and this is the name that has been used on the list of the tournament's best goalkeeper below. In 1986 Jean-Marie Pfaff was the goalkeeper in the All-Star Team, but maybe the best goalkeeper should be Toni Schumacher, who won the second best player of the tournament, awarded the silver ball behind Maradona's golden ball award.

The Golden Glove award winner is decided by the FIFA Technical Study Group. Goal keepers are also eligible for the Golden Ball Award too, and in 2002 the German goalkeeper Oliver Kahn won both awards.

List of Golden Glove Award Winners

Year Golden Glove Winner Country
2022 Emi Martinez  Argentina
2018 Thibaut Courtois Belgium
2014 Manuel Neuer Germany
2010 Iker Casillas Spain
2006 Gianluigi Buffon Italy
2002 Oliver Kahn Germany
1998 Fabien Barthez France
1994 Michel Preud'homme Belgium
1990 Luis Gabelo Conejo
Sergio Goycochea
Costa Rica
1986 Jean-Marie Pfaff Belgium
1982 Dino Zoff Italy
1978 Ubaldo Fillol Argentina
1974 Sepp Maier West Germany
1970 Ladislao Mazurkiewicz Uruguay
1966 Gordon Banks England
1962 Viliam Schrojf Czechoslovakia
1958 Harry Gregg Northern Ireland
1954 Gyula Grosics Hungary
1950 Roque Máspoli Uruguay
1938 František Plánička Czechoslovakia
1934 Ricardo Zamora Spain
1930 Enrique Ballestrero Uruguay


If there is a tie for the Golden Glove Award, the winner will be the goalkeeper who progressed furthest in the competition. If a further tiebreaker is needed, it will be based on the number of saves made, then minutes played.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be held in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite