Topend Sports Logo

2022 T20 World Cup in Australia

The 2022 edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup tournament was held in Australia. The event was rescheduled from the canceled 2020 event. It is the eighth time the tournament has been held. The tournament was held from 16 Oct to 13 Nov, 2022.

In the final, England beat Pakistan by five wickets to win their second ICC Men's T20 World Cup title.

The Teams

The competition involved 16 teams. Australia gained automatic entry as it is the host nation. They were also defending champions. Another 11 teams gained entry based on the top performers from the 2021 tournament. These are: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Namibia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies.

The final four teams came from qualifying tournaments. In the first of the qualifying tournaments, UAE and Ireland were successful in booking their places for the T20 World Cup. The final two spots were taken by The Netherlands and Zimbabwe.

The Fixture

First Round

The following teams played in the first round, which comprised two groups.

The top two teams from each group (Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Ireland and Zimbabwe) joined Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa in the Super 12s stage.

Super 12

Knock-out stage 

The knock-out stage consisted of two semi-finals, the winners playing in the Final at the MCG on November 13. In one semi-final, Pakistan defeated New Zealand. In the other, England defeated India. In the final, England defeated Pakistan by five wickets to win their second ICC Men's T20 World Cup title.


The host cities were Adelaide (Adelaide Oval), Brisbane (The Gabba), Geelong (Kardinia Park), Hobart (Bellerive Oval), Melbourne (Melbourne Cricket Ground), Perth (Perth Stadium) and Sydney (Sydney Cricket Ground). The semi-finals took place at the Sydney Cricket Ground and at the Adelaide Oval, with the final at the MCG.

Prize Money

The prize money allocation was the same as for the Men’s T20 World Cup in 2021, all 16 teams received part of the US$5.6m total prize money for the tournament.

The winning team collected $1.6m, the runner-up $800,000. Both losing semi-finalists received $400,000. The minimum amount a team could win was $40,000, which was given to each of the four teams knocked out at the end of the First Round, however they received another $40,000 for any game they won.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite