ICC World Twenty20 (T20)

The ICC World Twenty20, also known as the ICC World T20 or the World Twenty20, is the international championship of Twenty20 cricket. The ICC World T20 takes place every 2 years. However, there is doubt about whether a tournament will be held in 2018. At the moment there there is a four-year gap between the 2016 tournament and 2020 in Australia.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) organizes the World Twenty20. The 2016 tournament consisted of 16 teams including all 10 ICC full members and 6 added ICC members selected during the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier.

The first edition of the ICC World Twenty20 was in South Africa in 2007 won by India, defeating Pakistan by 5 runs during the finals held in Johannesburg. The 2016 champions are the West Indies.

The next tournament is to be held in Australia in 2020.

More Information

Related Pages