Topend Sports Logo

FIFA Fair Play Award

The FIFA Fair Play Award is an annual recognition presented by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) to teams, individuals, or entities that have demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship and fair play in the world of football.

This award aims to highlight instances where participants have exhibited exemplary behavior, respect for opponents, and adherence to the principles of fair play on and off the field. It celebrates acts of integrity, ethical conduct, and positive contributions to the spirit of fair competition within the global football community.

The FIFA Fair Play Award serves to emphasize the importance of sportsmanship and integrity in football, encouraging a culture of respect and fairness among players, teams, and football associations worldwide.

The FIFA Fair Play Award was first awarded in 1987, it has been presented to individuals (including posthumously), teams, fans, spectators, football associations/federations and even entire footballing communities. There was no award presented in 1994.

Year Winners Reason
2023 The Brazil men's national team For their stand against racism​​
2022 Luka Lochoshvili For saving the life of Austrian footballer Georg Teigl after he collapsed during an Austrian Bundesliga match between Austria Wien and Wolfsberger AC.
2021 Denmark national team and medical staff Administered critical CPR and protected Christian Eriksen during the UEFA Euro 2020 group stage match versus Finland
2020 Mattia Agnese Administered critical first aid to an opponent who lost consciousness following an on-field collision.
2019 Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United After Leeds United scored while Aston Villa had an injured player on the pitch, Leeds United allowed Aston Villa to score unopposed.
2018 Lennart Thy Missed an Eredivisie match for VVV Venlo against PSV Eindhoven to donate blood for a recipient in urgent need of matching stem cells for leukaemia treatment.
2017 Francis Koné Saved the life of an opponent by administering on-pitch first aid after a collision.
2016 Atlético Nacional Requested CONMEBOL to award Chapecoense with the 2016 Copa Sudamericana title after the LaMia Flight 2933 crash.
2015 All football organisations supporting refugees Working to support refugees in the face of conflict. Accepted on their behalf by Gerald Asamoah, who campaigns for the welfare of refugees.
2014 World Cup volunteers Their work, tireless support, enthusiasm, and passion for the game as demonstrated at the 2014 FIFA World Cup, 2014 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup, 2014 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup, and 2014 FIFA Club World Cup.
2013 Afghanistan Football Federation Solidarity in football against all odds through the after-effects of war, disorder and conflict.
2012 Uzbekistan Football Association Showing that fair play and competition are not mutually exclusive but complement each other.
2011 Japan Football Association Enduring hardships in wake of 2011 Japan earthquake, while winning the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup.
2010 Haiti women's national under-17 football team Enduring hardships in wake of 2010 Haiti earthquake.
2009 Bobby Robson Posthumously awarded for commitment to fair play shown throughout his career as a player and coach.
2008 Turkish Football Federation Encouraging dialogue between two countries which otherwise do not have any form of diplomatic relationship.
2007 Barcelona Rejecting lucrative shirt sponsorship deals and instead carrying the UNICEF logo.
2006 Fans of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Fans' fair play, mutual respect, and special atmosphere created inside and outside the stadiums.
2005 Community of Iquitos, Peru Wholehearted support of the 2005 FIFA U-17 World Championship, and contribution to football.
2004 Confederação Brasileira de Futebol (Brazilian Football Confederation) Recognition of the "Match for Peace" played by the national teams of Brazil and Haiti, where tickets were offered in exchange for guns.
2003 Fans of Celtic FC, Scotland Exemplary behaviour in the 2003 UEFA Cup Final, despite Celtic losing 3–2 in extra-time to Porto.
2002 Football communities of Japan and Korea Republic Demonstrating a spirit of brotherhood and sportsmanship by co-hosting the 2002 FIFA World Cup.
2001 Paolo Di Canio, Italy Taking ball out of play with his hands, when opposing goalkeeper Paul Gerrard was injured on the ground.
2000 Lucas Radebe For working with children in South Africa and his commitment to the fight against racism in football.
1999 New Zealand's football community For their efforts in making the 1999 FIFA U-17 World Championship a success.
1998 United States Soccer Federation Football Federation Islamic Republic of Iran For sportsmanship during their 1998 FIFA World Cup match - despite political tensions between their countries for nearly 20 years.
Irish Football Association For efforts to reunite the Catholic and Protestant communities, in a match in Belfast between Cliftonville and Linfield.
1997 Irish supporters For their exemplary behaviour during the World Cup preliminary match against Belgium.
Jozef Žovinec (Slovak amateur player) For 60 years of amateur football without receiving a yellow card.
Julie Foudy For her efforts against child labour.
1996 George Weah For demonstrating his love for the game and spreading the message of Fair Play around the world.
1995 Jacques Glassmann For his courageous attitude as whistleblower in the bribery case between Olympique de Marseille and his team US Valenciennes.
1994 Not awarded
1993 Nándor Hidegkuti Hidegkuti won the award for his model behavior as a player and coach.
Football Association of Zambia For the efforts of the reconstituted national team in the wake of 1993 Zambia national team air disaster.
1992 Union Royale Belge des Sociétés de Football Association (Royal Belgian Football Association) For promoting fair play with its campaign "Football in Peace" and the aid project "Casa Hogar" in Toluca, Mexico.
1991 Real Federación Española de Fútbol (Royal Spanish Football Federation) In recognition of the exemplary way the government, media, schools, artists and sponsors were all involved in fair play activities.
Jorginho For his model behaviour both on and off the field.
1990 Gary Lineker For receiving neither a yellow or red card for his entire 16-year career as a professional footballer.
1989 Trinidadian and Tobagonian supporters For their sporting behavour, despite a loss to the US in their final match in the 1989 CONCACAF Championship.
1988 Frank Ordenewitz For admitting handball and therefore giving away a penalty in a match between 1. FC Köln and Werder Bremen.
Spectators of the 1988 Seoul Olympic football tournament For the fans' sporting and composed behaviour at the Olympic football tournament.
1987 Dundee United's fans (Scotland) Recieved in honor of Dundee United's fans good behaviour towards winners IFK Göteborg in the UEFA Cup Final, in particular for staying behind and applauding the opposition players and fans when they won the Cup.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite