Topend Sports Logo

1993 FIFA Awards

The 1993 FIFA World Player Gala (now called the Best FIFA Football Awards) was an international football award ceremony by the sport's governing body FIFA. This was the fird time the event was held. Four awards were presented in 1993, the Best FIFA Men's Player, the FIFA Fair Play Award, and the Top Team and Mover of the Year Awards.

Best Player Award: The 1993 winner of the best player award was the Italian Roberto Baggio. He was also the winner of the 1993 Ballon d'Or. The women's award for Best FIFA Women's Player was not awarded until 2001.

Fair Play Award: This award recognizes behavior that promotes the spirit of fair play and compassion. There were two winners in 1993; the Zambian Football Association for the efforts of the reconstituted national team in the wake of 1993 Zambia national team air disaster, and for the Hungarian football player NĂ¡ndor Hidegkuti for his model behavior as a player and coach.

Team of the Year: The team of the year award is given to the men's national team that finishes on top of the FIFA World Rankings. In 1993, the winner was Germany.

Best Mover of the Year: This award is for the men's team who made the best progress up the FIFA world rankings over the course of the year. The winner in 1993 was Colombia.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite