Topend Sports

Golden Boot Winners List

The Golden Boot Award is decided annually by the Rugby League World magazine (originally awarded by British magazine Open Rugby), for the player judged to be the best in the world. The voting panel is made up of former players and international rugby league journalists.

There have been four England players who have won the award, four from New Zealand, the rest from Australia. Several players have won the award twice, though it is only Johnathan Thurston who has won it three times (2011, 2013, 2015).

No award was given between 1990 and 1998. In 1987 the Golden Boot award was shared by two winners. Up until 2014 there was also an award for the International Player of the Year by RLIF.

Year Player Nationality Position Club
2020 Joran Schoenmaker Netherlands Centre Rugby Club Eemland
2019 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck New Zealand Fullback New Zealand Warriors
2018 Tommy Makinson England Wing St Helens
2017 Cameron Smith Australia Hooker Melbourne Storm
2016 Cooper Cronk Australia Half Back Melbourne Storm
2015 Johnathan Thurston Australia Half Back North Queensland Cowboys
2014 Shaun Johnson New Zealand Half Back New Zealand Warriors
2013 Johnathan Thurston Australia Halfback, Five-eighth North Queensland Cowboys
2012 Kevin Sinfield England Five-Eighth Leeds
2011 Johnathan Thurston Australia Halfback North Queensland Cowboys
2010 Benji Marshall New Zealand Five-Eighth Wests Tigers
2009 Greg Inglis Australia Centre Melbourne Storm
2008 Billy Slater Australia Fullback Melbourne Storm
2007 Cameron Smith Australia Hooker Melbourne Storm
2006 Darren Lockyer Australia Five-Eighth Brisbane Broncos
2005 Anthony Minichiello Australia Fullback Sydney Roosters
2004 Andrew Farrell England Lock Wigan Warriors
2003 Darren Lockyer Australia Fullback Brisbane Broncos
2002 Stacey Jones New Zealand Halfback New Zealand Warriors
2001 Andrew Johns Australia Halfback Newcastle Knights
2000 Brad Fittler Australia Five-Eighth Sydney Roosters
1999 Andrew Johns Australia Halfback Newcastle Knights
1991-98 No award given
1990 Garry Schofield England Five-Eighth Leeds
1989 Mal Meninga Australia Centre Canberra Raiders
1988 Ellery Hanley England Five-Eighth Wigan
1987 Peter Sterling Australia Halfback Parramatta Eels
1987 Hugh McGahan New Zealand Second Row Eastern Suburbs
1986 Garry Jack Australia Fullback Balmain Tigers
1985 Brett Kenny Australia Five-Eighth Parramatta Eels
1984 Wally Lewis Australia Five-Eighth Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite