Topend Sports Logo

1992 FIFA Awards

The 1992 FIFA World Player Gala (now called the Best FIFA Football Awards) was an international football award ceremony by the sport's governing body FIFA. This was the second time the event was held. Only two awards were presented in 1992, the Best FIFA Men's Player and the FIFA Fair Play Award (first awarded in 1987).

The 1992 winner of the best player award was Dutch player Marco van Basten, who was also the winner of the 1992 Ballon d'Or.

Another award presented at the FIFA World Player Gala was the FIFA Fair Play Award, which recognizes behavior that promotes the spirit of fair play and compassion. The winner in 1992 was the Royal Belgian Football Association for promoting fair play with its campaign "Football in Peace" and the aid project "Casa Hogar" in Toluca, Mexico.

The women's award for Best FIFA Women's Player was not awarded until 2001.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite