Qualifiers for Russia 2018

Home | Schedule | Venues | Results | Goal Scorers

As the host nation, Russia qualified automatically for the 2018 World Cup. The other 31 qualifiers were finalized in 2017. The top seeds to qualify were Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France. See info about the Group Draw for Russia 2018 to see who each team plays in the early rounds.

Debutants to qualify were Panama and Iceland. Shocks and surprises included the following teams to miss out: Italy, Netherlands, USA, Algeria, Cameroon, Ireland, Ghana, and Chile.

Twenty countries who competed in 2014 were also at the 2018 edition in Russia.

Russia 2018 sign Russia 2018 sign

Qualifiers Based on Geographic Region

The lowest ranked team to qualify was Russia, who were automatic qualifiers. The lowest ranked teams to win their place through the qualifying rounds were South Korea (62nd) and Saudi Arabia (63rd). The highest ranked team to miss the finals was Chile, ranked 9th at the time of qualifying.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite