Topend Sports Logo

2027 Rugby World Cup

The 2027 Rugby World Cup, the 11th to be held, will be contested in Australia from 1 October and 13 November. Australia has previously hosted the Rugby World Cup in 2003, and co-hosted with New Zealand in 1987. The defending champions are:

The 2027 tournament will be the 40th anniversary of Australia and New Zealand hosting the first Rugby World Cup in 1987.

The World Cup in 2027 will be expanded to include 24 teamsĀ (there have been 20 teams since 1999). The tournament will feature six pools of four teams, with a round of 16 added prior to the quarter-finals, and overall the tournament will be held over six weeks (one less than previously)

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in France in 2023. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite