Women's World Cup

Women's Rugby is very popular in many of the rugby playing countries around the world. The first Women's Rugby World Cup was held in 1991, and it has been held every four years since.

The tournaments in 1991 and 1994 were not officially sanctioned by the IRB - it was not until the 1998 tournament that it received official IRB backing. After being runner's up for three years running, England triumphed in 2014 for their second Championships.

New Zealand won the 2017 World Cup, their 5th title. The next tournament will be held in 2021, and will be played in New Zealand, the first time the event as ever been held in the southern hemisphere. The format of the world cup is changing for the 2021 World Cup, with classification matches being replaced with quarter finals.


Year Host Winner Runner Up Score
2021 New Zealand
2017 Ireland New Zealand England 41-32
2014 France England Canada 21-9
2010 England New Zealand England 13-10
2006 Canada New Zealand England 25-17
2002 Spain New Zealand England 19-9
1998 Netherlands New Zealand USA 44-12
1994 Scotland England USA 38-23
1991 Wales USA England 19-16


Related Pages


Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in Japan in 2019, from 20 September – 2 November. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite