Topend Sports Logo

2019 Rugby World Cup

The 2019 Rugby World Cup was the 9th to be held. It was contested in Japan from 20 September until 2 November 2019. This was the first time this tournament was held in Asia.

The top three teams in each pool at the 2015 World Cup in England qualified automatically for the 2019 World Cup in Japan. The teams finishing in the top two of each pool advanced to the quarter-finals. See the listing of each pool for 2019.


South Africa beat England 32−12 in the final to claim their third title, equalling New Zealand's record. The defending champions New Zealand finished third after defeating Wales in the bronze medal match.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in France in 2023. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite