South American Beach Games

The South American Beach Games is a biennial multi-beach-sport event in which South American countries compete. The event is overseen by the South American Sports Organization (ODESUR).

The event was held for the first time in 2009 in Uruguay and the fourth and the most recent edition was held in Peru in 2015. Manta, Ecuador in 2011 and Vargas, Venezuela in 2015 were the two other editions held for the games. The fifth edition of the games is planned to be held in 2017.

Currently the 10 sports included in the South American Beach Games are, Beach football, Beach handball, Sailing, Surfing, Open water swimming, Beach rugby, Beach tennis, Triathlon, Beach volleyball, and Water skiing. For each sport, separate medal competitions are held for both men and women.

A total of 10 to 14 nations have participated in the games held thus far. Brazil has been the most dominant country in the games thus far winning the most gold medals. Argentina is a close second in gold medals won but has even surpassed Brazil in the total medals won. Ecuador and Venezuela have also had huge success, with Venezuela winning the most medals in 2015 games when they were the host nation.


Related Pages

Popular Content


Major Events Extra

The biggest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite