Topend Sports Logo

2024 T20 World Cup

The 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup will be co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies, from 4th to 30th June. It will be the ninth time the tournament has been held. Two-thirds of the matches will be played in countries of the West Indies, the rest in the USA.

It will be the first time that the United States will host a cricket World Cup, an obvious move by the IOC to extend its reach beyond its traditional cricket playing nations.

Seven venues in the Caribbean will host matches: Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad & Tobago, along with three venues in the USA – Dallas, Florida and New York.

England are the defending champions, having won in 2022.

Participating Countries

The competition has expanded to 20 teams, up from 16. The teams will be divided into four groups (5 team per group), with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Super Eights. The teams in the Super Eights will be divided into two groups of four, with the top two from each group advancing to the semi-finals.

Canada, Uganda, and the USA are making their tournament debut.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite