Topend Sports Logo

Women's Soccer World Cup France 2019

The 8th FIFA Women's World Cup was held in France, the first time France had hosted the event. Only two countries bid for hosting rights, France and South Korea.

The event was held from June 7 until July 7, 2019. Matches were played in nine cities across France. France, as host country, was an automatic qualifier for the tournament. The United States were the defending champions, and won their fourth title, defeating The Netherlands 2-0 in the final.

Participating Teams

Here are the teams that qualified from each confederation.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The next men's World Cup will be held held jointly in Canada, USA and Mexico 2026, for the women the next will be held in 2027. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite