Topend Sports

Women's Soccer World Cup Germany 2011

The 6th FIFA Women's World Cup was held in Germany in 2011. They won the right to host the event in October 2007. The event was held between June 27 - July 17, 2011. The winners were Japan, who beat the US in a penalty shoot-out, following a 2 all tie after extra time. Japan became the first Asian team to win a FIFA World Cup.

The Competing Countries

Two-time defending World Champions Germany automatically qualified as the host nation. All other nations started qualification in their confederations in 2010. There were a total of sixteen teams competing in the finals.

Here are all 16 competing countries:


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

FIFA World Cup Extra

The current men's World Cup is being held in Qatar 2022, the next women's world cup will be in Australia/New Zealand 2023. See more firsts and other trivia, a quiz, and also information about each country at the World Cup. Most importantly, who are the winners?

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite