Topend Sports Logo

Euros Winners List

The UEFA European Championship (the 'Euros') is a national men's football competition between European countries, held every four years. Here are all the winners since the Soviet Union won the first in 1960.

Ten different countries have won the tournament: Germany and Spain with three titles each, France and Italy with two titles while Portugal, Netherlands, Denmark, Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia and Greece have one title each. Spain is the only country to win consecutive titles, in 2008 and 2012.

Year Winner Score Runner-up
2021 Italy 1–1 (a.e.t.), (3–2 p) England
2016 Portugal 1–0 aet France
2012 Spain 4-0 Italy
2008 Spain 1-0 Germany
2004 Greece 1-0 Portugal
2000 France 2-1 asdet Italy
1996 Germany 2-1 asdet Czechia
1992 Denmark 2-0 Germany
1988 Netherlands 2-0 Soviet Union
1984 France 2-0 Spain
1980 West Germany 2-1 Belgium
1976 Czechoslovakia 2-2 aet / (5-3) ps West Germany
1972 West Germany 3-0 Soviet Union
1968 Italy 1-1 aet / 2-0 replay Yugoslavia
1964 Spain 2-1 Soviet Union
1960 Soviet Union 2-1 aet Yugoslavia

aet = after extra time
asdet =after sudden death extra time
ps = after penalty shootout

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

 → How to Cite