Topend Sports Logo

UEFA European (Euro) Championship

The UEFA European (Euro) Championship (commonly known as the 'Euros') is the primary association football competition between the senior men’s national teams from the Union of European Football Association (UEFA). The event has been held in Europe every four years since 1960 to determine the continental champion (see winners).

UEFA Euro Sign UEFA Euro Sign

The tournament was formerly known as the UEFA European Nations Cup, but changed to the current name in 1969. Since the 1996 tournament, titles of each championship are known in the form “UEFA Euro (year)”. This nomenclature has been since retroactively applied to earlier tournaments.

The Euros is known to be the second most watched international football tournament after the FIFA World Cup.

The Henri Delaunay Trophy is awarded to the winning team, in honor of the first General Secretary of UEFA who came up with the European Championship but died five years after the first tournament. The trophy was remodeled for the 2008 tournament to make it larger. The old trophy was overshadowed the UEFA’s other trophies such as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup. The current trophy weighs 8 kilograms and is 24 inches tall, being seven inches longer and one pound heavier than the old one.

More Info

Upcoming Events

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

 → How to Cite