UEFA Europa League Winners

The UEFA Europa League is an annual football cup competition for top football clubs in Europe. The clubs qualify for the competition based on their performance in their national leagues and cup competitions. It is the second tier competition for european clubs, below the UEFA Champions League.

The competition was originally called the UEFA Cup, from 1970 until 2009, when there was a change in format and the competition was then known as the Europa League. Since 1996, the final is played as a single match, prior to that the winner was based on a home and way series.

The most successful club in the competition is the Spanish team Sevilla, with six titles (including 2020). Spanish clubs have the highest number of victories, followed by England and Italy.

Season Winners Score Runners-up
2021-22 Eintracht Frankfurt (Germany) 1–1 (a.e.t.) penalties 5-4 Rangers (England)
2020-21 Villarreal (Spain) 1–1 (a.e.t.) penalties 11-10 Manchester United (England)
2019-20 Sevilla (Spain) 3-2 Inter Milan (Italy)
2018-19 Chelsea (England) 4-1 Arsenal (England)
2017-18 Atltico Madrid 3-0 Marseille
2016-17 Manchester United 2-0 Ajax
2015-16 Sevilla 3-1 Liverpool
2014-15 Sevilla 3-2 Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk
2013-14 Sevilla 0-0 Benfica
2012-13 Chelsea 2-1 Benfica
2011-12 Atltico Madrid 3-0 Athletic Bilbao
2010-11 Porto 1-0 Braga
2009-10 Atltico Madrid 2-1 Fulham
2008-09 Shakhtar Donetsk 2-1 Werder Bremen
2007-08 Zenit Saint Petersburg 2-0 Rangers
2006-07 Sevilla 2-2 Espanyol
2005-06 Sevilla 4-0 Middlesbrough
2004-05 CSKA Moscow 3-1 Sporting CP
2003-04 Valencia 2-0 Marseille
2002-03 Porto 3-2 Celtic
2001-02 Feyenoord 3-2 Borussia Dortmund
2000-01 Liverpool 5-4 Deportivo Alavs
1999-2000 Galatasaray 0-0 Arsenal
1998-99 Parma 3-0 Marseille
1997-98 Inter Milan 3-0 Lazio
1996-97 Schalke 04 1-0 Inter Milan
1995-96 Bayern Munich
1994-95 Parma
1993-94 Inter Milan
Austria Salzburg
1992-93 Juventus
Borussia Dortmund
1991-92 Ajax
1990-91 Inter Milan
1989-90 Juventus
1988-89 Napoli
VfB Stuttgart
1987-88 Bayer Leverkusen
1986-87 IFK Gteborg
Dundee United
1985-86 Real Madrid
FC Cologne
1984-85 Real Madrid
1983-84 Tottenham Hotspur
1982-83 Anderlecht
1981-82 IFK Gteborg
Hamburger SV
1980-81 Ipswich Town
AZ Alkmaar
1979-80 Eintracht Frankfurt
Borussia Mnchengladbach
1978-79 Borussia Mnchengladbach
Red Star Belgrade
1977-78 PSV Eindhoven
1976-77 Juventus
Athletic Bilbao
1975-76 Liverpool
Club Brugge
1974-75 Borussia Mnchengladbach
1973-74 Feyenoord
Tottenham Hotspur
1972-73 Liverpool
Borussia Mnchengladbach
1971-72 Tottenham Hotspur
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite