Topend Sports Logo

European Golden Shoe (Golden Boot) Winners List

The European Golden Shoe (also commonly known as the Golden Boot) is an award presented to the leading goalscorer from the top divisions of the European national leagues.


Between 1968 and 1991, the award was given by L'Équipe to the highest goalscorer in any European league. Between 1991 and 1996 there were no official awards given to the top goal scorers, but the leading goalscorer for those years have since been recognized. Since the 1996–97 season, the award, given by European Sports Media, has used a weighted points system.

Point System

The winner is not simply the player with the most goals in the season. There is a weighting system where the goals scored in the top-ranked leagues are worth more. Players from the five highest ranked leagues according to UEFA (based on results of each league's clubs in European competition over the previous five seasons) get 2 points per scored goal, leagues ranked 6-22 get 1.5 points per goal and the remaining leagues get 1 point per goal. The top five ranked leagues in 2022 were Germany, Spain, England, Italy, and France. The winners usually come from the top-ranked leagues.

Year Goals Winner Team League
2024 36 Erling Haaland Manchester City England Premier League
2023 36 Harry Kane Bayern Munich Germany Bundesliga
2022 35 Robert Lewandowski (2) Bayern Munich Germany Bundesliga
2021 41 Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich Germany Bundesliga
2020 36 Ciro Immobile Lazio Italy Serie A
2019 36 Lionel Messi (6) Barcelona Spain La Liga
2018 34 Lionel Messi (5) Barcelona Spain La Liga
2017 37 Lionel Messi (4) Barcelona Spain La Liga
2016 40 Luis Suárez (2) Barcelona Spain La Liga
2015 48 Cristiano Ronaldo (4) Real Madrid Spain La Liga
2014 31 Luis Suárez Liverpool England Premier League
2014 31 Cristiano Ronaldo (3) Real Madrid Spain La Liga
2013 46 Lionel Messi (3) Barcelona Spain La Liga
2012 50 Lionel Messi (2) Barcelona Spain La Liga
2011 40 Cristiano Ronaldo (2) Real Madrid Spain La Liga
2010 34 Lionel Messi Barcelona Spain La Liga
2009 32 Diego Forlán (2) Atlético Madrid Spain La Liga
2008 31 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United England Premier League
2007 26 Francesco Totti Roma Italy Serie A
2006 31 Luca Toni Fiorentina Italy Serie A
2005 25 Thierry Henry (2) Arsenal England Premier League
2005 25 Diego Forlán Villarreal Spain La Liga
2004 30 Thierry Henry Arsenal England Premier League
2003 29 Roy Makaay Deportivo La Coruña Spain La Liga
2002 42 Mário Jardel (2) Sporting CP Portugal Primeira Liga
2001 35 Henrik Larsson Celtic  Scottish Premier League
2000 30 Kevin Phillips Sunderland England Premier League
1999 36 Mário Jardel Porto Portugal Primeira Liga
1998 34 Nikos Machlas Vitesse Netherlands Eredivisie
1997 34 Ronaldo Barcelona Spain La Liga
1996 40 Zviad Endeladze Margveti Georgia (country) Umaglesi Liga
1995 39 Arsen Avetisyan Homenetmen Armenia Armenian Premier League
1994 43 David Taylor Porthmadog Wales League of Wales
1993 34 Ally McCoist (2) Rangers  Scottish Premier Division
1992 34 Ally McCoist Rangers  Scottish Premier Division
1991 34 Darko Pančev Red Star Belgrade Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Yugoslav First League
1990 38 Hugo Sánchez Real Madrid Spain La Liga
1990 38 Hristo Stoichkov CSKA Sofia Bulgaria A PFG
1989 43 Dorin Mateuț Dinamo București Romania Liga I
1988 39 Tanju Çolak Galatasaray Turkey Süper Lig
1987 39 Toni Polster[a] Austria Wien  Austrian Bundesliga
1986 37 Marco van Basten Ajax Netherlands Eredivisie
1985 39 Fernando Gomes (2) Porto Portugal Primeira Liga
1984 32 Ian Rush Liverpool England First Division
1983 36 Fernando Gomes Porto Portugal Primeira Liga
1982 32 Wim Kieft Ajax Netherlands Eredivisie
1981 31 Georgi Slavkov Botev Plovdiv Bulgaria Parva Liga
1980 39 Erwin Vandenbergh Lierse Belgium Belgian First Division
1979 34 Kees Kist AZ Netherlands Eredivisie
1978 41 Hans Krankl Rapid Wien Austria Austrian Bundesliga
1977 47 Dudu Georgescu (2) Dinamo București Romania Liga I
1976 39 Sotiris Kaiafas Omonia Nicosia Cyprus Cypriot First Division
1975 33 Dudu Georgescu Dinamo București Romania Liga I
1974 46 Héctor Yazalde Sporting CP Portugal Primeira Liga
1973 40 Eusébio (2) Benfica Portugal Primeira Liga
1972 40 Gerd Müller (2) Bayern Munich Germany Bundesliga
1971 44 Josip Skoblar Marseille France Ligue 1
1970 38 Gerd Müller Bayern Munich Germany Bundesliga
1969 36 Petar Zhekov CSKA Sofia Bulgaria Parva Liga
1968 42 Eusébio Benfica Portugal Primeira Liga

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite