Topend Sports Logo

Gerd Müller Trophy (Striker of the Year) Winner's List

The Gerd Müller Trophy (formerly the Striker of the Year Award) is a relatively new award presented as part of the Ballon d'Or awards. This award was first presented in 2021, as was the Club of the Year Award. The two new awards were introduced by France Football, the French sports monthly which awards the Ballon d'Or.

Gerd Müller1970 Ballon d'Or winner Gerd Müller

In the first year the award was called the Striker of the Year Award or Best Striker Award. For the second and subsequent years, it has been named the Gerd Müller Trophy. Gerd Müller was a German footballer who widely regarded as one of the greatest goalscorers ever. Müller won the Ballon d'Or in 1970. He died in August 2021.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Football

Football (some call it soccer) is the world's most popular sport. There are many major football tournaments, the pinnacle is the FIFA World Cup. See a calendar of what is coming up. There have been many legends of the game, particularly winners of the Ballon d'Or. For players, there are articles about Football Fitness and Fitness Testing.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite