International Rugby League Player of the Year Winners

The Rugby League International Federation (RLIF) presented an award for the rugby league International player of the year from 2008 until 2014. There appears to be no more presentations after this date.

The award is voted on by an international judging panel with representatives from both the northern and southern hemispheres.

The first award was presented in 2008, won by Australian Billy Slater. He also won the Golden Boot award the same year.

The golden boot award is given to the best player in the world, but with a different judging panel, so the two awards do not always correspond.

Year Player Nationality Club
2014 Sam Burgess England South Sydney Rabbitohs
2013 Sonny Bill Williams New Zealand Sydney Roosters
2012 Cameron Smith Australian Melbourne Storm
2011 Billy Slater Australian Melbourne Storm
2010 Todd Carney Australian Sydney Roosters
2009 Jarryd Hayne Australian Parramatta Eels
2008 Billy Slater Australian Melbourne Storm

Related Pages