Topend Sports

Who is the All Time Greatest Rugby League Player

We are compiling a list of the greatest athletes from the sport of rugby league, which will then be voted on and the winner placed on the shortlist of the all time greatest athlete ever (all sports). The first stage is to get nominations for rugby league before the vote is started. See the current list below of top athletes, compiled using other published lists and visitor feedback. See also the Golden Boot winners for some of the modern greats.

If you believe that there is someone missing from this list, please place a comment below, including any relevant details about the person.

Rugby League Greatest Players

The athletes below are listed in no particular order - once the shortlist is complete then you will be able to vote for who you think is the greatest of all. This list is not complete - if you know of someone who should be listed here, let us know using the comment form below.

name notes
Allan Langer
Andrew Ettingshausen
Andrew Johns Twice winner of Golden Boot Award (1999 & 2001)
Arthur Beetson  
Billy Slater Twice winner of the International Player of the year (2008, 2011) and once winner of the Golden Boot Award (2008).
Brad Fitler Winner of the Golden Boot Award in 2000.
Cameron Smith Played hooker with the Melbourne Storm (2002-2020), as captain for 15 of those years. He holds many records in the NRL's, including the most games played (430).
Clive Churchill
Dally Messenger  
Darren Lockyer Twice winner of Golden Boot Award (2003 & 2006)
Ellery Hanley in 2007 he was voted as the greatest British rugby league player of all time. Winner of the Golden Boot Award in 1988.
Gareth Edwards Gareth Edwards is a former Welsh rugby union footballer who played scrum-half. Has been described by the BBC as "arguably the greatest player ever to don a Welsh jersey". In 2003, a poll of international rugby players conducted by Rugby World magazine declared Edwards the greatest player of all time. In 2007, former England captain Will Carling published his list of the '50 Greatest Rugby players' in The Telegraph, and ranked Edwards the greatest player ever.
Jonathan Thurston Winner of the Golden Boot Award in 2011.
Mal Meninga Winner of the Golden Boot Award in 1989.
Mark Gasnier
Peter Sterling winner of the Golden Boot Award in 1987
Stacey Jones winner of the Golden Boot Award in 2002
Steve Menzies
Wally Lewis winner of the inaugural Golden Boot Award in 1984


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Old Comments

Commenting is closed on this page, though you can read some previous comments below which may answer some of your questions.

Lists Extra

Football/Soccer is clearly the world's most popular sport, and has the most popular athletes, but which sport has the fittest players (but not necessarily the greatest athlete). These players do not always earn the most. The best of the best have made it to our 7 Sporting Wonders Lists.

 → How to Cite