Topend Sports Logo


The Melbourne Australian rules football club is possibly the world's oldest professional club of any football code, having been officially formed in May 1859, and becoming a foundation member of the Victorian Football Association (VFA) in 1877 and the VFL in 1897. Melbourne have won 13 AFL/VFL premierships, their most recent in 2021 against the Western Bulldogs.

  Melbourne Football Club
nickname: Demons
mascot: demon
club colors: blue and red
first season: 1897
home ground: MCG
city base: Melbourne, Victoria
premierships (men): 1900, 1926, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1948, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1959, 1960, 1964, 2021
premierships (women): 2022 (#2)
Brownlow medalists: Ivor Warne-Smith (1926, 28), Don Cordner (1946), Brian Wilson (1982), Peter Moore (1984), Jim Stynes (1991), Shane Woewodin (2000)
wooden spoons: 1905-06 (2), 1919, 1923, 1951, 1969, 1974, 1978, 1981, 1997, 2008, 2009

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Sport Extra

Check out the 800+ sports in the Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport? We also have sports winners lists, and about major sports events and a summary of every year.

 → How to Cite